cultural mediators

17Apr15

“Curiously, Ettore Sottsass, B.V. Doshi, Aldo Rossi, all three of them at the end of their careers actually say that they don’t want to be called architects. They refer to a larger meaning than what architecture is in terms of the object. They aspire to a kind of zeitgeist and try to become mediators in a cultural process. I agree with that idea of architecture in that I use it to talk about other cultural and social phenomena. In other words, architecture is my vehicle; it’s my vengeance against the inconsistencies and inequities that I see happening in the world. It’s what I know how to do, so I use architecture, the language of architecture, or let’s say my professional capacity, to talk about the city, because ultimately the city and the buildings that punctuate it are the best reflection of our culture.”

AB | Archinect

No Responses Yet to “cultural mediators”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

